How to Create a Visualization Sequence to Refocus your Mind at Night

Michelle Jonelis
4 min readFeb 28, 2020
Image Source: https://walandtrusts.org/news/defending-puget-sound-shoreline/

A helpful tool for calming your body and mind during the night, allowing you to relax, is to create a visualization sequence. Once you have created the visualization sequence, you can use it any time you are awake and want to pass the time and refocus your thoughts. It is best to create several different visualizations that you can choose from when you need them. Think of this as building a virtual “library”.

The goal of the visualization is not to bring on sleep; it is simply a tool to give you a pleasant way to pass the time and refocus your thoughts. It is hard on your body and brain to be stressed all night but if you can figure out a way to stay calm, even if you are not sleeping you will find you feel much better the next day. As you review the visualization in your mind, you will notice that your mind wanders. As soon as you realize you have fallen off task, take a moment to acknowledge whatever thoughts you were having. If those thoughts were useful thoughts you can even write them down on a bedside to-do or ideas list. Then, resume the visualization where you left off. If you find that you fell asleep for a few seconds while doing the visualization and then woke up, congratulate yourself for falling asleep and reassure yourself that if you fell asleep once you can fall asleep again. The first few times you try to review the visualization sequence during the night you may find it does nothing other than make you feel more agitated. Stick with it, it takes practice to learn to refocus your mind on the visualization. Each time you successfully refocus your mind you are making progress. Over time, it will become easier to focus on your visualization and you will find it a useful exercise.

The choice of what to visualize is completely personal. Many people choose a relaxing place that they have been to and can recall with some level of detail. Even if you do not remember the specifics about what a place looked like, you can still use it and imagine whatever details you would like it to have. Other people create an entirely imaginary place. Another option is to create a visualization using characters or places from books or TV shows that you enjoy. The goal is to have a clear starting place for the visualization followed by a few predictable steps, then leave the end of it open for indefinite exploration.

Instructions: Write out your visualization scene, step by step, on a piece of paper. Be as descriptive as you can and try to incorporate all five senses. You want the scene to proceed in steps (see example) and also be able to continue for an indefinite amount of time (see example).

Example: I’m in bed in a vacation home with my toddler son, I open my eyes and see the early morning light shining through the window. I feel warm, my son smells good. I realize he is deeply asleep and I can steal some time for myself before he awakens. I get out of the bed and feel the cold air on my face, the soft carpet on my feet. I tiptoe out of the bedroom and down the hall, feeling the floor change to cold wood as I leave the room. I walk into another bedroom to find my suitcase and look at the beautiful ocean view out the window. The water is calm and the tide is low. I change my clothes and grab a sweatshirt, then head down the stairs, again aware of the cool floor on my feet and the morning light streaming through the windows. I look around as I walk downstairs, paying attention to the light fixture above me and the shoe rack beside me. I walk from the stairway to the kitchen where the windows are large and the sun is much brighter. I open the sliding glass door and go out onto the porch, stopping to put on my flip flops. I smell the ocean air and feel the even-cooler air on my face and legs and immediately feel calm and refreshed. I walk down the path to the rocky beach, then down to the water. I step into the cold water and quickly pull my feet out as I shiver briefly. I pause and look at the numerous mussels and clams that are covering the beach, and I notice the sounds of the seagulls and other birds that are pecking at them. I put my feet back in the water, which now feels slightly warmer, and make my way down the beach, looking at starfish, sea urchins, crabs and other small fish. I continue to explore the beach, walking up and down and looking at the houses and sealife.

--

--

Michelle Jonelis

I am a sleep medicine physician in Marin County, CA. My clinical focus is on the non-pharmacologic management of sleep disorders using techniques such as CBT-I.